The one-legged stone torii arch at the entrance of Sanno Jinja Shrine is a result of the atomic bomb dropped over Nagasaki in 1945. Located about 900 meters southeast of the hypocenter, the shrine was instantly obliterated. The only thing that remained was the torii gate standing on a single column. The blast rotated it about 30 degrees on its pedestal base. It has continued to stand for over 60 years, supporting the weight of the crosspiece.